I Am Pro-Choice

Baby Feet Heart

“If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn’t thinking.” George S Patton Jr.

Citizens of Stepford, something strange is happening in our country; where MPs spend their days compromising in order to tow the party line and every Canadian acts like love is just a feeling, devoid of reason or sound wisdom. Where a young person learns that freedom to choose is dictated by the herd. And sees the silence engulf her best friend, her parents, her church and her community, and realizes that any moment, any second – her turn is coming.

We live in a world where it is increasingly dangerous to be truly pro-choice. In an ever shrinking world where we are connected electronically but not relationally, we do not realize that we are no longer choosing. While people have always been influenced by prevailing culture, never before has there been social, cultural, religious and political pressure of such global proportions. We are being molded and influenced in this giant, unprecedented thought experiment every time we click refresh. Everything is instantaneous, there is no time to properly process or filter the barrage of ideas or invitations. Click like. Retweet. Share. Repost. Reason or logic need not prevail in order for us to choose. The incessant stream of popular thought on our unsuspecting psyches is enough to deceive us into thinking that our thoughts are our own.

But what about when we consciously disagree with mainstream society, when we would choose otherwise if we felt free to choose; how many of us actually would say so, publicly. How many of us stay silent. How many of us would be fearful of posting an unpopular statement or article. I am afraid. But then I did it anyway. Last summer after the same sex marriage ruling in the United States I decided to share or like articles that supported the traditional definition of marriage. And I felt very real pressure, if not to conform then at least not to actively or publicly oppose the majority. I admit to not posting anything on this subject since then.

On October 19, 2015, Canadians ushered in a government that is ironically anti-choice about pro-choice. Liberal MPs have no choice but to vote pro-choice. Soon they may also have no choice where physician assisted dying is concerned. I wonder how many are staying silent. I wonder how many are willing to trade someone else’s life in order to keep their career. I wonder how we can trust a person who puts their career ahead of their convictions. And I wonder when the same question will be asked of me. Will I trade my moral convictions and the commands of God in order to be accepted or liked or to keep my job or to avoid prison? A long time ago I did just that. I traded someone else’s life to be accepted. I chose an abortion. It was my right to choose, not because the government said so but because God gave that right to everyone, the right to choose, even if we choose to disobey Him. Today I choose to believe in the sanctity of every life – born, preborn and those who are dying, because I met a Man who traded His life for mine when my life was not worth saving. I owe my life to Jesus and I gladly choose to obey Him. The rulers of His day killed Him because He also did not conform to the popular culture.

Martin Luther King Jr spoke not only into his day but also into the future when he said that “history will have to record that the greatest tragedy of this period (…) was not the strident clamor of the bad people, but the appalling silence of the good people.” I am pro-choice and I choose life. What do you believe? What will you choose? Will you stand up and be heard or will your silence speak for you?

“If serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve (…) but as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.” Joshua 24:15

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Am Pro-Choice

  1. carmen says:

    AMEN! I choose LIFE!!!

    ❤ carmen

  2. ASH says:

    Powerful
    Couldn’t be more shouting to our souls
    Time is almost too late
    Thank you
    Supremely

    • Thank you for taking the time to comment. I fear you may be right, time is running out. Thankfully no matter the circumstances, God is on the throne and in control. Nothing takes Him by surprise!

Leave a Reply

