Unexpected!

Unexpected. It’s actually a rather expected descriptor of so many things:

an unexpected gift; an unexpected kindness; an unexpected love; unexpected encouragement and unexpected friendship.

It is these last two that I did not expect to find when I started writing this blog but I have found just that in Julie Holly, a kindred spirit who writes at Peacequility. Julie shares my passion for authenticity and a passionate pursuit of life, love and the One who gives us the hope to go on. So I was honored and surprised when she invited me to write a guest post on the subject of Joy. You might say it was, unexpected!

I hope you, my dear readers (and also unexpected friends on this journey of life) will be encouraged to see unexpected joys in your own life. Enjoy this post and take the time to look around Julie’s site; in this instance, I know you can expect to be encouraged.

Joy can be unexpected. And sometimes, joy can be unwanted.

In the fall of 2009 our little family moved from our comfortable and familiar suburban home into the unknown. We arrived in the middle of the night, driving along a gravel road paved with potholes and lit only by the moon, traversing a highway flanked by an endless sentry of evergreens. There were no gas stations or rest stops, no souvenir shops selling useless trinkets. There was nothing but trees, literally. A road sign as we drove past the last town read: warning, winter survival equipment is recommended.  Read more.

joy

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected!

  1. peacequility says:

    I’m totally with you Julie with the unexpected God sends us! So grateful that He continuously weaves the church together! Your work is a HUGE blessing and encouragement! Press on!

Leave a Reply

