Chocolate Silk Pie with Toasted Almond Crust, Raspberry Coulis and Coconut Whipped Cream

Can I tell you a secret?  I have a little black book. And it’s just bursting with savory vegan and decadent dessert recipes that I have found and printed for safe keeping over the last few years. I do keep recipes saved on the computer but that is not very handy while I am in the kitchen.  Hence the little black book (which is really a very unattractive black binder – but that doesn’t sound very exciting does it?).

frozen kiss (2)

This past weekend was my husband’s birthday, Valentine’s day and a long weekend all rolled into one.  So of course we needed chocolate to celebrate! What started off as a simple vegan chocolate pie recipe developed into a decadently satisfying chocolate dessert that was devoured in minutes.  I really should have taken a photo of the empty pie dish and our sad faces as that would have best conveyed how awesome this combo of chocolate, raspberry and coconut cream really is. Sadly I cannot take credit for any of these recipes but I am happy to pull it all together for your convenience!

Truth be told I cannot recall where the original chocolate pie recipe came from; I only have the tattered hard copy I printed off with no reference.  The original chocolate pie is very simple and quick to prepare but since I prefer to avoid refined sugars I substituted the chocolate in the filling with stevia sweetened chocolate chips from Krisda and then went in search of an easy, refined sugar-free pie crust.  My first stop: the Oh She Glows website. Without fail the buck stops here for awesome whole food, plant-based vegan recipes; fellow Canadian Angela Liddon serves up every type of recipe you could dream of and then some.  I chose to use her Toasted Almond Pie Crust because well, “chocolate almond” – need I say more?  The only change I would make is to use store-bought almond meal because a) I can and b) it’s faster.  If you want to use pre-ground almonds substituting 2/3 cup for the 3/4 cup whole almonds should do the trick.

chocolate silk pie titled

You could stop and just enjoy the pie as is, just chocolate filling with baked almond crust, or with a scoop of store-bought vanilla vegan ice cream.  And we have, many times.  But if you want a special occasion dessert that will impress and tantalize the taste buds, adding raspberry coulis and coconut whipped cream take this dessert from yum to wow! Bonus: both the raspberry coulis and the coconut whipped cream are super easy to make.

Chocolate Silk Pie with Toasted Almond Crust, Raspberry Coulis and Coconut Whipped Cream

chocolate silk pie with fixin's titled

Pie Filling

  • 9” toasted almond crust
  • 285g package of Krisda chocolate chips, plus two more tablespoons
  • 400g package of extra firm organic tofu
  • 8 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Melt chocolate chips in a saucepan. Place tofu in food processor and blend until smooth.  Add melted chocolate and syrup and blend until fully incorporated.  Pour into crust and refrigerate for three to four hours or more.

Dress the pie with raspberry coulis and coconut whipped cream.  Enjoy!

chocolate silk pie slice titled

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Silk Pie with Toasted Almond Crust, Raspberry Coulis and Coconut Whipped Cream

  1. Karshish says:

    Send me a big piece, next time you make one!! 😲 yum, yum

    Karshish- the picker up of learnings’ crumbs, the not incurious in God’s handiwork.

  2. alifemoment says:

    This pie looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

