Roasted Veggie Burrito with Black Bean and Salsa-Spinach Dip

I am excited to share this burrito recipe because it is almost like four-recipes-in-one!  We made nachos again the other day and I did not want to use refried beans from a can because I find we only need half the can and the other half ends up being wasted.  So I thought I would make my own bean dip using half a can of black beans and just freeze the remaining beans.  I flipped open my go-to recipe book – Robin Roberston’s “1,000 Vegan Recipes” – and used her “black bean and sun-dried tomato dip” as the inspiration for my own delicious black bean and salsa-spinach dip (I cannot resist throwing in greens wherever I can and frozen spinach cubes make this compulsion sooooo easy!).  Needless to say, the dip was so yummy that the remaining beans did not get frozen but whipped up into another batch of dip, this time for burritos.  I did not have all the ingredients to make my Bustin’ Burritos and I thought that these burritos would make a poor cousin so I was surprised when I actually enjoyed them even more!  The key is the roasted peppers and caramelized onion … and the avocado, or if you are my husband and have a love affair with olives, sub sliced green olives instead.  The flavor of roasted sweet bell peppers is magical and after peeling them I just have to lick my fingers, the flavor is that good.  And the best thing is it is so super easy to roast bell peppers.  I used to cut and de-seed them first and then roast them as slices but that is definitely not the way to do it – the peel wouldn’t fully come off and I found them very fussy but the other day I was reading a recipe where the peppers were roasted whole and that makes them very easy to peel and de-seed.  In case you have never tried roasting your own peppers, I have added directions below as well as instructions for how we caramelize our onions (hence the earlier “four-recipes-in-one” reference; a bit of a stretch where the peppers and onions are concerned but hey, I’ll run with it!).  I sure hope you fall in love with these burritos as much as I did … drop me a line and let me know how you enjoyed them and/or how you dressed yours up.

As always … Happy Cooking!!

roasted veggie burrito roasted veggie burrito w salsa

Roasted Veggie Burrito with Black Bean and Salsa-Spinach Dip

Serves 2

  • 2 (55g each) whole grain or whole wheat tortillas
  • 2/3 cup black bean and salsa-spinach dip, or more to taste (see recipe below)
  • 1 red, yellow or orange pepper, roasted*, peeled, de-seed and sliced
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced and caramelized*
  • 1 avocado, pitted and sliced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, optional
  • salsa for topping

Place each tortilla on a dinner plate.  Divide the bean dip, roasted peppers and caramelized onions in half and layer each on the tortillas.  Heat each plate in the microwave for 30 to 45 seconds or until warmed through.  Divide the avocado and cilantro (if using) and layer on top of the heated bean-veggie mix. Fold the tortillas over and top with salsa as desired.  Serve immediately.

*Roasted Bell Peppers

It is very easy to roast sweet peppers so you can prepare them the night before or at the beginning of your week if you are that organized (I make it there some weeks!).  

Preheat the oven to 350F, rinse the number of whole peppers you wish to roast and place them in a baking pan that has been lightly greased with olive or avocado oil. Roast the peppers for 35 to 45 minutes or until their skins are beginning to blacken.  Remove from oven and allow to cool.  Once cooled the peppers will be very easy to skin and the stems will almost pop out, allowing you to easily open and de-seed them.  Store in a tightly sealed container in the fridge for 3 to 4 days (after a couple of days you may notice that they have released more juices into the container but this does not affect the deliciousness of the peppers).

caramelized onions w rice, roasted peppers & asparagus                                                                  caramelized onions with brown rice, roasted red peppers and garlic asparagus

*Caramelized Onions

These are very delicious served over hot brown rice with a little bit of vegan margarine, salt and pepper to taste and some soy sauce.  Add a steamed vegetable like broccoli or asparagus on the side and you have an easy weeknight meal.

  • 1 yellow onion, peeled & sliced lengthwise (not too thin)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Freshly ground salt and pepper to taste

Heat a large frying pan over medium high heat, add the olive oil, heat and add the onions.  Cook, stirring the onions constantly to prevent burning, until they are a golden, caramelized colour.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Serve immediately or cool and store in a tightly sealed container in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days.

Black Bean and Salsa-Spinach Dip

Makes about 1-1/2 cups

Use in burritos as above, on nachos or on whole grain crackers or toasted bread; add grilled veggies and you have the perfect sandwich for lunchtime!

  • 1-1/2 cups (15oz) canned black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 1 frozen spinach cube, thawed or 1/2 cup packed fresh spinach, torn
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Add all ingredients to a food processor and process until just blended, leaving some texture. Taste and adjust seasonings. Serve as above and store remaining dip tightly sealed in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days.

black bean and salsa spinach dip

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Veggie Burrito with Black Bean and Salsa-Spinach Dip

  1. AgileWriter says:

    Nice!!
    Celebrate milk day with unique milkshakes..
    http://bit.ly/TYTxHa

  2. Pingback: A Peek at my Week – Take Two | Dose Dependent Ministries

  3. Pingback: Roasted Sweet Peppers & Tomato Spread - Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

