Homemade Sweet Potato Fries

I love hot, crispy French fried potatoes generously seasoned with salt but sadly I usually try to avoid them due to the high caloric and fat content (ironically I am writing this while dipping a spoon into a jar of delicious drippy almond butter).  When sweet potato fries started to make an appearance in restaurants I found myself indulging in their sweet salty goodness a little more often than I would like, especially pre-vegan days when they were served with a tempting chipotle mayo for dipping.  And now of course you can buy a bag of pre-cut sweet potato fries as easily as the good ol’ standard white potato fries but they still tend to be high in fat.  So the other day I just made my own.  Genius? Not really. Awesomely delicious and easy to prepare?  Definitely!!  We had ours as part of a very simple meal with corn on the cob the other night.  Easy, tasty, no complaining from the peanut gallery, done.  Of course I encourage you to serve yours up whatever way tickles your fancy … break out the veganaise, google a vegan chipotle mayo recipe or just dip them in salsa or plain old ketchup.  Anyway you serve them, French fries just became part of the menu again … kinda makes me want to break out the blender and finish up with an old fashioned chocolate “milk” shake.

Bon appetit!!

sweet potato fries

Homemade Sweet Potato Fries

Serves 2 – 4

  • 3 or 4 medium to large orange sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into ½-inch sticks
  • Olive or avocado oil, for greasing baking sheets
  • Sea salt to taste

Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly grease two baking sheets with oil. Spread the sweet potato fries evenly onto the two pans in a single layer.  Bake for 30 – 35 minutes, turning fries over once halfway through the cooking time.  Serve immediately seasoned with sea salt and garnished with condiments as desired.

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food, Just Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

