My Vegan Pantry and Freezer Staples

A lovely friend of mine has been inspired to try a vegan diet; she has decided to follow the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart program and text me excitedly the other day to ask for a list of pantry staples.  I know that there are many easily accessible lists of vegan pantry staples online and while I did forward a few of those links to her, I also took the time to take stock of my own vegan pantry and I was surprised by how much I have in my cupboard!  There are some items that may not have been on my list 3 years ago when I first embarked on this vegan-foods journey and there are also items on the list that will be in the pantries of many folk, vegan or not.   And of course there are also items that reflect our tastes as a family (eg, our love for delicious Asian, Italian and Mexican foods).  It may seem overwhelming at first but when you consider that many of these items are not purchased every week or every month, you realize that it is quite manageable and you can purchase different items as you need them for a particular recipe.  In fact, this year we have placed ourselves on a restricted budget and even though we do not run to the grocery store 3 or 4 times throughout the week like we used to, we eat like kings, especially when you consider the deprivation that is a daily reality for the majority of the world.  So, with a grateful heart and a happy tummy, I look over my list of staples and thank God for the means and resources to secure them.

What is in your pantry or freezer?  What items are “must haves” for you? This week I encourage you to take stock of all your nutritional blessings and enjoy the food that nourishes and gives strength to your body.

Happy Cooking!!

Pantry

Vegan Pantry Staples 

  • Brown Rice
  • Couscous
  • Pasta, whole grain (macaroni, spaghetti, rotini, linguine, spaghettini)
  • Quinoa
  • Whole Wheat & Whole Grain flour
  • Baking Powder
  • Baking Soda
  • Arrowroot Powder
  • Wheat Gluten
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Maple Syrup, pure
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Coconut Sugar
  • Olive Oil and other neutral oils (Canola, Avocado)
  • Coconut Oil
  • Soy sauce
  • Hoisin sauce
  • Sriracha sauce
  • Tamari
  • Mustard
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Rice Vinegar, seasoned and plain
  • White Vinegar
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Tomatoes, canned in various forms: whole, diced, crushed, sauce
  • Sundried Tomatoes
  • Roasted Red Peppers
  • Olives
  • Lemon & Lime juice, bottled
  • Beans, canned & dry (chickpeas, black beans, cannellini or white kidney beans, pinto)
  • Nut butters, natural (peanut, almond)
  • Tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • Lentils (red, green, brown)
  • Oatmeal, rolled, old-fashioned
  • Ground flaxseed
  • Hemp Hearts
  • Chia Seeds
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Herbs & Spices, various (I added to these as recipes called for new ones)
  • Coconut Milk, canned
  • Salsa
  • Vegetable Broth or Powder
  • Nuts & seeds
  • Raisins
  • Shredded Coconut
  • Chocolate Chips and/or Chocolate Squares

Vegan Freezer Staples

  • Spinach Cubes
  • Peas, Corn & Mixed Veg
  • Fruits, medleys and single fruits (favorites: peaches, mangoes, strawberries, blueberries, cherries)
  • Bananas (for homemade “nice” creams; take ripe bananas, peel, cut into chunks & place in freezer)
  • Tofu, silken and extra firm
  • Veggie Ground Round
  • Veggie burgers, sausages or hot dogs (for when you just can’t be bothered, lol)
  • Bread and/or Whole Grain Wraps

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food, Just Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Vegan Pantry and Freezer Staples

  1. Emma says:

    I think your pantry looks a lot like mine. Having a well-stocked pantry means a tasty, healthy meal is always in reach. I pretty much just buy fresh fruit and veg on a weekly basis and then top up my store cupboard/freezer essentials when needed. Great that you’re helping out your friends on their journey 😀

    • Thank you Emma! It’s neat that we can connect across continents & realize we have similar cupboards!! Too bad we aren’t closer or we could do weekly dinner swaps – I know that wold help me when I’m busy with my son but if you’re like me in other ways you might prefer a reason to procrastinate from school work, lol!!
      Thanks for the encouragement – it’s such a great feeling to introduce people to good food. I will be making one of your creations soon.
      Blessings, Julie:)

Leave a Reply

