BLT Supreme: Bliss, Love This!!

The longer I eat a whole-foods, plant-based diet, the less I rely on processed vegan versions of meat and cheese.   However, when your foodie background is still comprised of more carnivorous years than plant-based years, it is understandable to want to re-create old food favourites.  Such was the case with the beloved BLT sandwich.  Back in the day the smell of bacon sizzling in a pan started a chain reaction that moved past the nasal passages, activating salivary glands in the mouth and then traveling down to my tummy where an alarm bell of hunger would begin to sound.  I must be completely honest here and say that the aroma of cooking meat still smells good to me.  I enjoyed eating meat.  It tasted very good to me.  Thankfully with an endless array of delicious plant-based foods to choose from, I can continue my commitment to living a WFPB diet without any real sacrifice or temptation.  Let me introduce you to Marinated Tempeh: Smokey Maple Meatless Bacon.  So good.

Tempeh Bacon

I remember a trip to Winnipeg last year when a friend and I ate at Boon Burger, Canada’s first all vegan burger café, where I had one of their scrumptious burgers topped with this very same tempeh bacon.

Boon Burger logo

Afterward we went to the movies and I recall how I kept smelling my fingers, inhaling the delicious smell of tempeh bacon.   Lol – what a weirdo!!  🙂  So, it was only a matter of time before I would have to reinvent the classic BLT sandwich.  If I had only swapped out the traditional fatty, heart-stopping-in-a-not-so-great-way pork bacon for the delicious, environmentally-sustainable-cruelty-and-cholesterol-free tempeh bacon, I am not too sure I would have bothered posting about it.  But throw in a generous dollop of veganaise (seriously people, this stuff tastes better than regular mayonnaise; even if I were eating animals products again, I would still choose veganaise over regular mayo cause it rocks!), slices of creamy avocado and a handful of baby kale all seasoned with freshly ground salt and pepper  and you have sandwich heaven.  I actually ate this for an entire week’s worth of lunches and loved it just as much every single day.  The taste can only be compared to the feeling of a great neck massage: both make you want to groan with satisfaction.  So go ahead: I dare you to try it and not fall in love.

Happy Cooking!!

BLT Supreme

  • 2 slices of whole grain bread
  • 2 teaspoons veganaise
  • 4 slices marinated tempeh, bacon flavour
  • 3 – 4 slices tomato
  • 3 – 4 slices of avocado (or however many will fit on your sandwich!)
  • Thinly sliced red onion, to taste
  • Small handful of baby kale
  • Salt and pepper, freshly ground to taste

Toast whole grain bread slices, spread one slice with veganaise, layer with remaining ingredients and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Top with remaining slice of toast and enjoy immediately.

 

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BLT Supreme: Bliss, Love This!!

  1. Yummy, makes me hungry

Leave a Reply

