Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner: Bill Gates!

the future of food - bill gates

Bill Gates does not want to give us $5,000 but he does want us to consider that the future can be enjoyable, healthy and environmentally-friendly with faux meats.  People in general are becoming more aware that the enormous production and consumption of meat and animal products is having a devastating effect on our health and the environment, not to mention the impact it has on the lives of the animals that are bred purely for our gastronomic pleasure.  Remarking that it is unrealistic to expect all people to become vegetarian, Gates proposes focusing our energies on developing more realistic faux meat products.

With a desire to be transparent and real, I need to preface my reaction by saying there are some faux meats that I absolutely love; in particular, Italian-flavor Tofurky sausages and Smokey Maple-Flavor tempeh.  I try to be as whole-foods as possible and we do not eat processed vegan meats every week but I am not sure that I would be willing to completely give these products up at this time (hold your breath for my BLT: Bliss, Love This sandwich post).  Moreover, I think my child would revolt if I told him that veggie chicken nuggets are banned and I am not ready for that kind of revolution!  That being said, the minimal amount of processed and vegan junk products that are consumed in our household are probably quite negligible.

With the above in mind, may I say that these “future foods” are not the path that I would choose to focus my energies on; creating faux meat / animal products in a sophisticated laboratory still seems suspiciously processed to me and does not highlight how satisfying a whole-foods, plant-based diet is.  And as one friend commented, how long will it be before we discover that these processed faux meats are unhealthy.  I would suggest that while this approach sounds good, it is similar to other well-intended social programs; it doesn’t actually resolve the problem but it does mitigate it and often that is the more realistic approach.  There are many voices in this debate and sometimes it is easier to hear from one source and not another.  In fact, just in writing this blog post I have had to reflect on and edit my own initial thoughts as some very insightful and thoughtful friends gave me their feedback.  Ultimately, Bill Gates with his widespread cultural and financial influence will be able to increase awareness of the desperate environmental issues that our world is battling.  After all, “knowing is half the battle.”

Thoughts?

 bill gates hoax - edited

Thank you to Sunshine and Slaughter for inspiring this post.

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner: Bill Gates!

  1. Great post! Thanks for the shout out. I agree with you that a whole foods, plant-based diet is the healthiest. But faux meats can be a great transition for people who don’t know what to cook after ditching meat. I suspect creating plant-based proteins like the ones Gates is backing is a lot less damaging, environmentally, than raising animals for food. Seems like a move in the right direction.

    • Agreed Jean – better faux meat alternatives on a road to a plant-based diet. I believe I admitted to my love for Italian-flavoured vegan sausages in this post but if not, I would like to say that while we all have ideals that we may strive for in the various aspect of our lives, rigid legalism is never my aim, but rather grace, dialogue and encouraging everyone to journey toward a healthier, more environmentally sustainable and compassionate way of eating.
      Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate the feedback and to know someone is reading!
      Blessings, Julie:)

      • Oh yes! I forgot to add how delicious those vegan sausages are. I’ve used them in recipes before. I agree with your thoughts on the vegan journey. Thanks for elaborating on that!

      • They are delicious! I haven’t had them for awhile but now I might need to buy some, lol!
        It is hard to encapsulate all one’s thoughts into a post so thanks for giving me a reason to elaborate!
        Blessings
        Julie:)

Leave a Reply

