Creamy Tomato-Tahini Linguine: A Daniel Fast Finale – Bada Boom Bada Bing

Being big carb lovers in our house, it really shouldn’t come as a surprise that when I “create” a new dish, it invariably includes some form of pasta.  We love pasta so much that it really doesn’t matter what kind or shape it comes in: whole wheat, brown rice, spaghetti, linguine, rotini, macaroni, lasagna, penne, rigatoni, fettuccine, fusilli, farfelle, angel hair, shells, ravioli, orecchiette – and those are just the kinds that came to mind as I was typing. What about: gigli, fideo, gemelli, ditalini, casarecce, bucatini, acini di pepe, anelli, cavatappi, radiatori, ruote, tripolini and tubini!!  Wow, who knew there were that many kinds of pasta. My grocery store and I seem to play it safe when it comes to the shape of the pasta but don’t let that limit you or your sauce.  Of course, certain types of noodles do better with thick, creamy sauces and others are better with thinner, chunkier sauces but I think that as long as the sauce is delicious and the pasta cooked to your preference (al dente anyone?) then bon appetit!

pasta

As the end of the Daniel Fast approached last week, my son started rebelling against the amount of rice I was serving up.  Suddenly an old stand-by favorite was getting me the stink eye and extra fussiness at dinner.  Since my temperament was not being sweetened with my usual dose of maple syrup or honey-infused desserts, I needed something to feed and quiet my child but, alas, the groceries were bought for the week and the budget accounted for.  What to do, what to do.  Thankfully, necessity is the mother of invention and as I scoured my cupboards I came to the conclusion that diced tomatoes + tahini + linguine would equal a kid-friendly, adult-pleasing meal.  And guess what?  I was right!  Lol.  So I searched Google to make sure I was on the right track and I easily found a tomato tahini sauce that I converted to the recipe you see below and voila, instant success.  This sauce is so easy to make and uses common pantry ingredients, so it is sure to become a stand-by in our house.  The rich, creamy, tomato sauce make a perfect Italian-style meal that you could serve to guests; add a colourful green salad and a loaf of hot, homemade garlic bread and you’re ready to go.  Bonus feature: there are greens and carrots “hidden” in the sauce for any picky family members.  However you serve it, remember to have fun making it your own.

Happy Cooking!!

Creamy Tomato-Tahini Linguine!

Serves 6

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1 can (398ml) diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 frozen spinach cube or 1 cup packed fresh baby spinach
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons dried basil
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 1 teaspoon salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 600g whole wheat linguine or brown rice linguine, cooked

Heat olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.  Sauté onions for 4 minutes or until translucent, stirring occasionally.  Add garlic and carrot, and sauté for another 2 minutes.  Add diced tomatoes, vegetable broth, spinach cube and basil.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes until vegetables are softened.

Stir in the tahini, and salt and pepper to taste.  Simmer until heated through, approximately 5 minutes.  Using an immersion blender, process until smooth.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

Serve over whatever cooked pasta you would like.

Creamy Tomato-Tahini Linguine

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

