Red Curry Vegetable Stew & Cornbread Muffins: Day Seventeen of the Daniel Fast

Well, it is a good thing that I do not suffer any longer under condemnation because all my good intentions have flown right out the window – along with half the nation’s new year’s resolutions no doubt! Originally I had wanted to post every day of the Daniel Fast – yeah right! – but that quickly gave way to what I considered (foolishly) to be a more reasonable resolve: to post every other day.  And I did manage to make it half way to day twelve so kudos to me.  Of course I would love just in general to post every day or every other day on my blog but that is highly unrealistic for me.  I am still actively participating in the Daniel fast though – four more days to go, woo-hoo!  Since I had given up processed sugar a year ago and was trying to eat as much of a whole foods diet as possible, I had approached this years’ fast with an abundance of confidence and also a bit of a concern that possibly I would not receive as much in a spiritual sense as others because I considered it to be less of a physical sacrifice for me.  However, my nutritional swagger gave way to a bit of a limp by the end of last week as I started to go a bit bonkers craving bread … mmm, delicious, crusty whole grain bread with an addictively soft, light center, slightly warmed so that the salty margarine melts across it, emitting an inviting aroma of fresh-baked … huh? What? Oh!  Sorry – I got lost in a carb coma!!  So, yah, I’ve been craving bread big time. So much so that I made a painfully dull skillet flatbread on the weekend and we gobbled it up like the Israelites in the wilderness.  Pretty sad I know but I was not going to let that failure rob me of another attempt at a Daniel Fast approved wheat product.  Tonight I reaped the rewards of perseverance with a delicious little cornbread muffin that I adapted from an on-line recipe.  Cornbread muffins belong in the savory not sweet category so the lack of sugar did not detract too much from these little gems and even my husband – who has been popping Medjool dates like candy all month in order to stave off complete sugar-withdrawal – agreed they were quite good (although, as he pointed out, they would be even better slathered with vegan margarine); Samuel likes to eat them with peanut butter and “red” jam. They will be a good accompaniment for the rest of the weeks’ lunches which are comprised of stews and soups. Speaking of stews and soups, I made a divine Thai “stew” out of a Red Curry Vegetable Soup recipe (found in the current issue of Vegetarian Times) simply by adding a large amount of cooked brown rice.

red curry vegetable stew

If you enjoy Thai foods and/or creamy, lightly spiced soups, this dish is for you.  Leave out the rice for a lighter lunch time version, or if you’re like us and need a heartier winter version, throw in as much as you like.  Whichever way you serve it, I can almost guarantee you’ll get requests to make it again next week which, is exactly what we are going to do! Failures and flops, triumphs and taste-sensations – you’re sure to find it all here so stay tuned!!

Happy Cooking!!

cornbread muffins

Cornbread Muffins

makes 12 – 14 muffins

  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseeds
  • 6 tablespoons water
  • 2 cups yellow cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup whole grain whole wheat flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3 Medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 heaping tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 cups of water (you can substitute some or all of the water with an unsweetened non-dairy milk; I used some of my homemade oat milk)
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I actually completely forgot the salt and they taste fine so if you are watching your sodium intake, feel free to omit this)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Grease 12 muffin cups.

In a small bowl, mix together ground flaxseeds and water then set aside.

Put the pitted dates in a small saucepan and pour in just enough water to cover the bottom of the pan.  Set the heat to medium-low and simmer, occasionally mashing the dates with a fork or spoon, until most of the water has dissipated and the dates are very soft and falling apart.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the cornmeal, flours, baking powder, and salt (if using).

Place the oil and applesauce in a small blender, add the dates and process until smooth (you will still notice tiny flecks of dates but don’t worry about that); alternatively, place all three ingredients in a bowl and process with a hand blender.

Add the date mixture, along with the ground flaxseed mixture and water to the flour and stir until incorporated.  Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins and bake in the pre-heated oven for approximately 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

cornbread muffin2

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Faith, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Curry Vegetable Stew & Cornbread Muffins: Day Seventeen of the Daniel Fast

  1. carmen says:

    Mmmmmmm you’re making me hungry for cornbread muffins!! *sigh* If you lived closer, I’d be right over! I haven’t got all the ingredients and the stores are closed now.

    I enjoyed your post and you made me smile – “Oh! Sorry – I got lost in a carb coma!!” That’s my weakness too!

    ♥ carmen

    • It would be great to have you over for tea & a muffin Carmen! How about I cook for you & you take me out & show me how to shop, lol!

      • carmen says:

        Hey night owl!! I see I’m not the only one up trying to catch up on comments! lol

        I would love to go shopping together and we’ll find you a nice peplum top! 🙂

      • You’re on!!! I will rock that peplum top in northern Manitoba!! 🙂
        I am working on a post … that is what happens to me … I get an idea in my spirit and I can’t just hurriedly put it down on the screen – I have to re-read and re-edit and find the perfect pic on-line … lol … I often ask God these days to make my shorter sleep refreshing and to invigorate me in the morning because by then I will not want to get out of bed!! hahaha.

Leave a Reply

