And Can It Be

And can it be, that I should gain, an interest in the Saviour’s blood

The deeper I come into the presence of God the more amazed I am by Him because the deeper I go into His presence, the more I see myself and the ways that He is working in me and changing me.  When I first came back to the Lord and surrendered my life to Him, I would weep and weep in church.  Because of the things I had done, for shame and for gratitude that He would love someone like me, someone who had turned her back on Him to do what she wanted and then come back, humbled and broken.  I love the saying, “when Christ was on the cross, you were on His mind.”  I use that so often when ministering to people because the truth in that is so much more powerful than the cliché.  It is literally mind blowing.  And when you first come to Jesus, those sin stains are so evident, so obvious.  The relief and the joy found at the feet of Jesus is so natural.  But the work is not done my friends.  Oh no, for when we take ahold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of us (Philippians 3:12), when we press in to knowing Him more, when we start coming not just as sin-stained outcasts but as sons and daughters made righteous and holy by the blood, that is when the transformation begins.  Because the Lord starts to work deeper and deeper within us, touching things that we didn’t even know could be touched or needed to be changed.  And you begin to see why Jesus said that He came that we might have life and have it to the full (John 10:10).  When God starts to free and change us from the things that enslaved us and when we find ourselves walking daily without chains, oh how we marvel.  When you didn’t even know you were chained, the feeling of freedom is startling, astounding, thrilling.

Tomorrow I begin the Daniel Fast with Canada in Prayer.  For the next 21 days I will be joining with brothers and sisters across Canada praying through the Lord’s Prayer and daily prayer prompts, interceding before the throne to open the floodgates of Heaven and let Him Reign.  The daily prayer prompts began before the fast (on January 01st) and on the first day of 2014 the Scripture and prayer prompt read: “Neither yield ye your members as instruments of unrighteousness unto sin: but yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God. (Romans 6:13) Yield to God surrendering your will, your mind, and your emotions over to the work of the Holy Spirit.”  I had never thought about yielding my emotions over to the Lord.  That was a new thought to me and it spoke to me.  I feel the Holy Spirit whispered it into my spirit.  As I knelt and prayed, I yielded my emotions to Him.  I have asked to grow in patience, I have prayed against spirits of anger and frustration but I never thought I could yield my emotions to His control.  It truly is a novel idea to me and one that makes me marvel so much that I feel compelled to repeat it.  I can yield my emotions over to the Lord.  He can be in control of my emotions.  I am in awe.  There have been times when the Lord has removed or delivered me from certain things within me that I never even recognized or knew were bondages until He revealed it to me.  And when He took them away, there was such a peace, like the calm after a never ending storm.  And it felt so … I’m reaching for the right words here … it was like being taken from a war zone into a peaceful place, and you wonder at this new place, this new peace.  And that is how it has been since I have been yielding my emotions to God.  There was no big bang or fireworks, nothing spectacular happened to announce that any change had taken place.  But as I have gone through these first few days of 2014, I have started to become aware that there is a quietness inside, an undisturbed peace, and I am wondering at it.  Can it be that God loves me this much.  That He cares to quiet storms I didn’t even know were raging?  He cares for me. He cares for me.  He cares for me.  And it makes me weep again, this agonizing beauty that grows in my soul when I am startled again and again by His grace, His majesty, reaching down to care for something and someone so small.  My heart swells and my throat is thick with tears.  I love Him. I love Him.  And I want more.  I want to know more about this God who changes me.  I want to be changed more, I want to know Him more.  And I want to tell this beautiful story of a God who doesn’t just die to save us from hell but who dies to save us from ourselves and for ourselves.  For the life that He has for us.  I get to live an abundant life right here, right now.  Not just in heaven but now.  All my hope is in Him.  Amen.

  And can it be that I should gain

An interest in the Saviour’s blood

Died He for me, who caused His pain

For me who Him to death pursued

Amazing love! How can it be!

That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me

Amazing love! How can it be!

That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me.

Charles Wesley, And Can It Be That I Should Gain

And Can It Be – Lou Fellingham and Phatfish:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXHkpAI_5Gk

And Can It Be:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKcc6uShB5k

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Can It Be

  1. Yedidia Ngoy Shala says:

    Amen dear sister Julie for this beautiful revelation of lettig God control our emotions! He really cares for us! I need more of Him me too! I really want to bt His servant and His faithful missionnary before His coming back soon! I love HIM me too very much and I really want know MORE MORE about my wonderful and ALMYTHY GOD JESUS-CHRIST! No one is like HIM!
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, Julie! Be blessed! I love you too dear sister! Hugs!

    Yedidia NGOY

    • Thank you for commenting Yedidia – I am glad that this post spoke to your spirit. Happy New Year friend … I hope we can meet to pray sometime not too far from now! Maybe we can go together on Tuesday night again some time?
      Blessings

  2. carmen says:

    Happy New Year Julie!

    Indeed He cares for us and His love is truly AMAZING!!! Beautiful post!

    Sorry we were not able to meet during the holidays! It was a very busy time for both of us. Our son got married on New Year’s Day and moved into their new house. We helped them with renos and moving etc, so much to do in addition to all the usual holiday activities.

    May good health be your portion with the Daniel Fast and prayer!!

    ♥ carmen

    • Thank you Carmen & congratulations on your son’s marriage and your new daughter-in-law! Maybe the summer will allow us some time to meet.

      Are you participating in the Daniel Fast this year?

Leave a Reply

