What Sammy Ate: Kid-friendly Version of Baked Sweet Potato & Hummus Salad

baked sweet potato & Sam

Children can be so fussy about food, liking one thing one day and then the next, poof, it is suddenly unpalatable.  Actually, my son doesn’t wait that long.  He will start some meals by saying, “mmm … mummy, this is so good!  Do you know what?  I could eat this all day and all night, all day and all night, all day and all night, all day and all night!”  And then, two minutes later – seriously. Two. Minutes. Later. – “mummy, I don’t want this, can I have something else?” Really?  You just said you loved it!!!  In moments like these I remember that scene in the movie Evan Almighty.  You know the one where Evan’s wife just can’t take it anymore and she’s off with her kids at a restaurant feeling sorry for herself and then God (disguised as Morgan Freeman – who actually makes a very comforting God-figure I might add) comes by and says:

“Let me ask you something. If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does He give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does He give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does He give them opportunities to love each other?”

Such a good “God-moment” in a Hollywood film.  Anyway, I digress.  My son, as sweet and loving as he is most of the time, can certainly demonstrate to me how it is that God gives us opportunities to be patient.  Many, many opportunities!! Lol.  I must say though that Samuel really does well with food overall, especially given his difficult beginnings (he hated everything, and I mean EVERYTHING).  And since we are creatures of habit and routinely serve up variations of our favourite veggies, it really doesn’t take much genius to figure out how I can re-arrange what we are eating into something he will enjoy and something that does not require my making a separate meal for him (which I refuse to do anyway).  I have also taken lots of great ideas for ourselves and Samuel from a book called “Vegan Lunch Box” by Jennifer McCann – you can click on the link to view her blog.

Vegan Lunch Box

So the other night when we were eating our Baked Sweet Potato & Hummus Salad, I knew what to do.  Sammy doesn’t like salsa but he does like baked sweet potato mashed with a bit of margarine and a dash of ground cinnamon.  I served him that with a side of the same fresh cut veggies we were having and a little container of the hummus on the side for his carrots and cucumber (because they are the only vegetables he currently likes dipped in the hummus).  And voila, dinner is served, your highness!!

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

