Baked Sweet Potato & Hummus Salad

Ok, I can feel my blogging mojo returning – hahaha – now I just need to find the time to write and post!  I believe everyone must have those moments where you just feel that you’ve had enough, you’ve been working hard and you need a break from it all.  My mini-vacation from all my pursuits consisted of relaxing at night with my husband, a large bowl of air popped popcorn drizzled with vegan margarine and tossed with sea salt, and You Tube episodes of The Voice UK Season One.  I realize of course why it is that I usually do not watch television; I am so easily addicted it is not funny.  And much as I feel a burning desire to know who made it through the Battle Rounds to the next live show, the next morning, sleep-deprived and in a brain fog, I seriously re-think my idea of relaxation!  Probably a better solution for me would be the old tried and true book in bed scenario.  I just love the idea of myself curled up in a cozy fluffy comforter with a good book, snow falling gently in the lamplight outside my window.  Now, if I can only remember that when the urge comes to watch season two!

Meantime, on the stove front, we’ve been scaling back our household expenses to try and tackle some debt so I’ve been pulling out some old tried and true favourites that are inexpensive, quick to make and yet still super tasty, nutritious and satisfying.  In Scotland, baked potatoes with different types of filling (eg prawn cocktail) are very popular menu items and when I lived there I made a homemade version that I loved and ate regularly, especially after a hard bike ride because it really filled me up.  Back then I topped my potato with grated cheddar and a tuna salad with extra veggies but when I became plant-powered, I quickly veganized this favourite.   First off I swapped the regular potato for a sweet potato – the flavor and nutrient benefits are undeniable.  Instead of tuna, a creamy, homemade hummus, plain or flavoured (however you like yours) and salsa, then topped with colourful, crunchy veggies.  It is a dish that is also easy to modify for children who might not like this exact combo – I’ll post about that later in What Sammy Ate.  For now, I’m looking forward to having this again tonight … oh, and I guess I might just post the recipe for the homemade hummus too.  It is so easy to make and doesn’t use any added oil, you’ll never use store-bought again.

Happy Cooking!!

Baked Sweet Potato & Hummus Salad

This recipe serves two (2).  I have given measurement ranges depending on how you like to dress up your potato but you could easily double it to serve four (4) or save it for leftovers the next night as their will be more than enough hummus.  Or you could save the hummus for sandwiches or cut up veggies the next day at lunch.

  • 2 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • 1 – 1-1/2 cups hummus, homemade (see recipe below)
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 – 2 cups greens (spinach, leafy lettuce or a combo)
  • 2 cups of chopped fresh veggies (choose a combination of colourful veggies; I like the kind I would usually use in a salad but you can use whatever you fancy: red peppers, grape or orange mini tomatoes, celery, red onion, cucumber, sugar snap peas, parsley, grated carrot, green onions)

Scrub the outside of the sweet potatoes under running water and leave the skins on as they are edible (try to buy organic if possible).  Bake the sweet potatoes in the microwave until soft, approximately 8-10 minutes depending on your microwave. Meanwhile, prepare the hummus as below.  Place the cooked potatoes on plates, slice almost all the way through and push the sides open.  Top with half the hummus, then half the salsa and the veggies.  Serve and enjoy immediately!!

baked sweet potato hummus salad

Homemade Hummus

From Brendan Brazier’s Whole Foods to Thrive

  • 2 cups chickpeas (cooked or canned)
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3-1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp water
  • Flavor Additions: sundried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, olives, fresh herbs, chipotle, curry – whatever you fancy!!

Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Add more or less water to get the consistency you prefer.

 

 

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

