What Sammy Ate: Ground Rice Pudding

As a child I did not crave traditional rice pudding (I’m more of a chocolate gal) but I absolutely loved the ground rice pudding my mother would make.  When the almond extract was stirred in, the smell was heavenly.  Seems to me that you used to be able to buy ground rice in the supermarket but then they stopped carrying it.  When I came across a recipe on The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen for a ground rice breakfast cereal, I instantly converted it to the ground rice pudding of my childhood only substituting almond milk and maple syrup in place of the dairy milk and loads of processed sugar.  You can make this pudding as sweet as you like.  I am happy with just a touch of sweetness but my husband always adds a bit more to his serving.  And my Sammy decided he wanted to cool his down with a handful of frozen blueberries – why not?

ground rice pudding with blueberries2

sam & ground rice pudding

I could literally eat a large bowl of this pudding for my meal so it might be better for me not to double the recipe!! I think this would make a great breakfast substitute as well, maybe with a bit more non-dairy milk and fresh or frozen fruit to top it off, just like Sammy.

Happy Cooking!!

ground rice pudding with cinnamon2

Ground Rice Pudding

Serves 4 to 6

  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 4 cups unsweetened almond or rice milk (I used half and half)
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup or honey, plus more for serving if desired
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon, optional
  • Handful of raisins, optional

Grind the rice in a clean coffee grinder so that it is almost a similar consistency to a flour.  Heat the milk in a large sauce pan over medium heat.  When scalding, add the rice slowly, stirring as you pour it so that it does not clump.  Bring to a boil, stirring frequently, reduce heat and simmer for approximately 5 – 10 minutes or until thickened, stirring often so that clumps do not form.  Stir in maple syrup and almond extract, taste and adjust.  Serve immediately or refrigerate and enjoy cold.  Add cinnamon and raisins or other fruits as desired. To enjoy at breakfast, add extra milk and fruits.

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Sammy Ate: Ground Rice Pudding

  1. Pingback: Christmas with the Desjardins: A Vegan Menu Review for 2013 | Dose Dependent

  2. Pingback: A Peek at my Week – Take Two | Dose Dependent Ministries

Leave a Reply

