Vegan Quickies: Sausage & Chickpea Rice with Grape Tomatoes

The title says it all – seriously!  Other than a drizzle of olive oil and a quick seasoning with freshly ground sea salt and pepper, there really is not much else to this dish.  Simple, quick, and filling it is not technically “whole-foods” because of the sausage but you can always omit that if desired.  Even whole-food plant-based adherents need a guilty food pleasure now and again, and one of mine has to be these Italian flavor vegan sausages from Tofurky.  Seriously, even if I were eating meat again, I would still buy these sausages, I just love them.  I can eat them cold or heated or just dipped in salsa or tossed in a tofu scramble.  I can eat them here, I can eat them there, I can eat them anywhere!  I do so love green eggs and ham vegan sausage Sam I Am!! If I’m not careful, my next blog will be: What I’m Snacking On: Vegan Sausage. Hahaha.  Seriously though, knowing my weakness for them, I do try to limit how often I buy them but this was one of those nights during my husband’s juice fast where it was just Sammy and I eating and I was not in the mood to turn the kitchen upside down for supper.  I had cooked rice in the fridge, so it wasn’t much of a stretch to come up with this concoction.  I share it not because of its’ brilliance or complex flavors that will make your mouth beg for more (haha) but because sometimes we just need simple.  What simple dish have you thrown together lately?  Help a fellow WFPB foodie out and share – I’m waiting to hear from you!

Happy Cooking!!

Tomato, Chickpea & Sausage Vegan Quickie2

Sausage & Chickpea Rice with Grape Tomatoes

Serves 2

  • 2 cups brown rice, cooked
  • 2 vegan sausages, sliced
  • 1 cup chickpeas, canned or cooked
  • Olive oil
  • 2 cups grape and sweet golden snacking tomatoes
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper, to taste

Divide the rice, sausage and chickpeas into serving bowls and heat through in the microwave.  Drizzle with a small amount of olive oil and stir to combine.  Top with the tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

