Secret Salad Knowledge

Salads used to be something I ate because I knew they were good for me.  I can’t say that I particularly enjoyed them, let alone loved or craved eating them.  Salads were more yummy if they were topped with a tasty commercial dressing but most of the time I wouldn’t allow myself to eat those kinds of dressings because they were high in fat (not to mention highly processed but I wasn’t thinking about that then) and since I never loved low fat Italian that left me with a raspberry vinaigrette, not a bad dressing but again, not my favourite.  My sister is my salad inspiration.  As she says: “nothing else displays all of nature’s gifts to us so well in one little bowl as a bountiful salad”!  Every day for work she eats an enormous salad, without dressing.   That might sound like either crazy willpower or dedication or, as I discovered, secret salad knowledge that makes eating salad something to crave and not just endure.  The Everything & Anything Salad is my version of my sister’s salad.  The awesome thing is you too can make your own version to suit your palate and let salads take centre stage once again, instead of being just something to endure so you can eat what you really want.  Another way to think of this salad is as an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink salad.  With delicious, crunchy nut and seed toppings as well as creamy chunks of avocado, I have found I enjoy this salad as is or lightly drizzled with a mix of virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  And the bonus is, you get a whole whack load of raw foods, rich with enzymes, without even thinking about a raw food diet.  For ease of assemble during the work week, I like to have my greens already washed and torn into bite size pieces in one container, and another container with the chopped veggies I am using.   It’s easy, yummy, satisfying and helps to avoid that horrid mid-afternoon carb-coma!  I would love to hear how you make this salad your own – don’t keep your yummy ideas to yourself, message me!!

Happy Tossing!!

Everything & Anything Salad8a

Everything & Anything Salad

Serves One

  • 1 – 2 cups mix of leafy green or red lettuce, mixed greens, baby spinach etc – any combination will do
  • 2 -3  cups mix of chopped, diced, grated or sliced of any of the following: celery, red or orange peppers, grape tomatoes, baby orange tomatoes, radishes, cucumber, avocado, sugar snap peas, carrots, green onions
  • 1/3 cup beans or legumes (optional): chickpeas (my favourite), black eyed peas, pintos, lentils, black beans
  • 1/4 cup nuts: cashews, walnuts, almonds, peanuts, brazil nuts
  • 1/8 cup seeds: sesame, poppy, pumpkin, sunflower
  • Hemp hearts and/or ground flaxseeds, sprinkle
  • Freshly ground sea salt & pepper, to taste
  • Olive oil & balsamic vinegar for drizzling, optional

In a large bowl or plate, layer all the ingredients in order of appearance.  Grab a fork and enjoy immediately!

Buddha Bowl

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Secret Salad Knowledge

  1. 2brokevegans says:

    Hey,we feel your pain.We can’t eat salads unless if they are tasty and we are not very fond of dressings,check our newer salads http://2brokevegans.com/salads/ and get ideas!!

    • I am just getting set to do up my grocery list / meals for the week and I love new recipes so I’ll pop on over and take a look to see what might inspire me! Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!
      Julie:)

Leave a Reply

