What We Are Eating This Week: Soups & Pasta

GIFlogoColorLargeOriginal

This is going to be a busy and hopefully inaugural week for me and it comes on the heels of an equally busy week.  On Wednesday I will begin a series of monthly workshops on faith and food, the first of hopefully many similar workshops and speaking engagements under the Dose Dependent umbrella. I have pamphlets out and circulating to some of the local churches and I hope to create a simple poster too but the date is fast approaching and I still have to go to work, clean the kitchen, cook and not neglect my son.  Or my husband.  Lol.  So it’s a full week and I thought I would just throw everything we’re eating this week into one post.  That way you’ll know I’m still alive and posting but there just might be a little lull between this post and the next!

Now that it is full on autumn up here in the north, homemade soup will again be making a regular appearance on my weekly menu planning.  Growing up I was never really a fan of soup.  When I moved out on my own and started to make my own meals, soup became one of those things you added to something, like mixing a can of tomato or mushroom soup into a casserole kinda deal.  Once I discovered how easy and delicious it is to make homemade soups though, they have become one of my favourite ways to eat a whole bunch of vegetables in one sitting.  I often double the recipe and freeze half for later.  That came in particularly handy today when we were having a “pot-blessed” lunch after church and I hadn’t even done the grocery shopping for the week, let alone prepared something to share.  Thankfully I had a batch of Curried Carrot Soup in the freezer so out it came.  I love allrecipes.com for different versions of carrot soup, especially a carrot soup that is slightly sweetened with orange juice.

First up this week is a delicious Creamy Roasted Tomato Soup.  I was so excited when I saw this blog post that I shared it and ran right out to the grocery store for tomatoes!!  It is also a great way to use up that surplus of tomatoes from the garden.  A friend had an overabundance of tomatoes that were about to spoil so I generously (wink, wink) took them off her hands, roasted them and set them aside for a day or two until I was ready to make the soup.  This soup is easy and delicious with a lovely basil accent.  It will definitely stay on my go-to soup list.

Cream of Roasted Tomato with Basil

Next I had a bunch of asparagus in my fridge that were just about ready to give up and start getting slimey.  I do enjoy a bit of steamed asparagus once in a while and I know I should eat it more often, especially since my husband loves it, but I just … can’t … bring … myself … to … prepare … it.  Then I saw a recipe in my girl Robin’s book (1,000 Vegan Recipes), Asparagus & Edamame Bisque and that was just perfect because I also happened to have a bag of edamame that had been sitting in my freezer for a long time (even though I actually really enjoy a snack of hot, cooked edamame with sea salt).  I decided to strain the soup through a tight sieve like suggested and initially I was getting annoyed because it was so labourious and time-consuming (not to mention seemingly-wasteful of all the nutritious asparagus-edamame pulp) however I have a brilliant plan to use said pulp to make a creamy asparagus linguine next week and so I labeled it and stuck it in the freezer.  I must admit to feeling a bit smugly self-satisfied with that brilliant save, hahaha, but I guess I’ll find out just how brilliant it is next week when I make the pasta.  Wish me luck! In the meantime, the bisque is definitely very smooth and creamy with a pleasant, mild and not overpowering asparagus flavor.

Asparagus & Edamame Asparagus & Edamame Bisque

Organic cabbage was on sale last week at our grocer so I have a bunch of that to use up.  Last week I made a family favorite, Tri-Colour Fusili with Sesame Cabbage, also from Robin Robertson but in her Quick-Fix Vegan book.  I guess I’m a bit of a fussy vegetable eater because although I don’t dislike cabbage I definitely like it better when it is dressed up in a yummy sauce and this sesame sauce fits the bill.  A combination of tahini, soy sauce, lemon juice and sesame oil, this sauce is yummy over meltingly soft cabbage, carrots and onions.  If you don’t have Quick-Fix Vegan, I highly recommend it as a Christmas gift to yourself; or a Thanksgiving gift if you’re like me and don’t like to wait!  I will still have another head of cabbage left after this though so I think it will get shredded and join the zucchini in my freezer.

Fusili with Sesame Cabbage

And if that is not enough food to get us through to the weekend when I am contemplating a hearty pot of vegan chili to bring to a local church’s chili and brownie bake-off, then I have butternut squash sitting on the counter just waiting to be whipped up into Dr. Oz’s Hearty Holiday Soup.  This is one of the first soups I made in the early vegan days and that is important because your first soup making experiences should be successful so that you are encouraged to continue.  The only difficult part of this soup is peeling the squash but it is definitely worth it for this this thick, creamy, lightly curried soup.  I just used a medium curry powder instead of hot. This is definitely a soup recipe I would double and freeze the extras for later.  I don’t have a picture of it though because I haven’t made it yet (the sesame cabbage pic is from last week’s dinner).

And that’s about it for this week … lunches are filled in with left over soup and colourful, tossed salads to get in my greens and raw foods.  I hope you’ve enjoyed your foray through our dinner menu for the week.  Please feel free to leave a comment or post about a recipe you think I should try.  I’m always happy to hear from you.

Happy Cooking!!

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

