Chia Breakfast Pudding with Blueberries

I just love berries.  Even though the summer and berry season are quickly fading as we march further into autumn, we can still enjoy their sweetness all winter long thanks to flash-freezing.  It’s like capturing a moment in time, to save and savor later.  I usually keep frozen fruit in the freezer so that I can satisfy my craving for a fruity or chocolatey nice cream whenever the urge strikes.  Frozen blueberries in particular do double duty as a nice cream stand-by or for breakfast in my banana-blueberry oatmeal.  This past weekend though, my friend Joansie, reminded me of a breakfast blueberry chia pudding I had tried and enjoyed quite some time ago.  Of course chia is all the rage these days too but who knows what to do with it, lol. (SIDE NOTE: for another stunning recipe that uses chia, see the link below to Angela Liddon’s  Irresistible Chewy Trail Mix Cookies on Oh She Glows, quite possibly the most divine cookie ever.  According to my husband, this cookie can also double as a breakfast cereal.  He crumbled three of them into his granola the other day and absolutely loved it.  But I digress!)  So I pulled out my well-worn and well-loved copy of Brendan Brazier’s awesome Whole Foods to Thrive and adapted his recipe of the same name.  The recipe is simple and quick, making it an ideal and nutritious start to your morning.  I throw the chia in the milk, take the fruit out of the freezer and by the time I’m dressed and downstairs again, it’s ready to blend.  In fact I plan on making it again tomorrow only I’m going to use mangoes in place of the blueberries.  As with many recipes, the versatility will stretch as far as your imagination.

Happy Cooking!!

Chia Breakfast Pudding with Blueberries

  • 2 tbsp chia
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened non dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 1/3 cup cashews, sliced almonds or walnuts (I used sliced almonds this time)
  • 1 – 2 tsp pure maple syrup (use more or less depending on how sweet you like it)
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (or other berries or sliced fruit: mangoes, peaches, banana)

Soak chia in the non-dairy milk for 15 minutes.  In a small blender, combine with the rest of the ingredients except the fruit (you can add a splash more milk if desired) and blend until smooth.  Transfer to a serving bowl and top with blueberries.

Blueberry Chia Breakfast Pudding

http://www.brendanbrazier.com/

http://ohsheglows.com/2013/08/20/irresistible-chewy-trail-mix-cookies-vegan-gluten-free/

Irresistible Chewy Trail Mix Cookies4

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chia Breakfast Pudding with Blueberries

  1. Pingback: A Peek at my Week – Take Two | Dose Dependent Ministries

Leave a Reply

