White Bean & Dill Open-Face Sandwich with Roasted Vegetables

Sandwiches became a little bit more of a challenge when we switched to a plant-based diet.  Gone are the days of the simple salami and Swiss cheese sandwiches with a bowl of Lipton vegetable soup (seriously, this is what my husband used to love when we were dating).  While I enjoy a good PB&J as much as any girl, I would not be doing myself any favors by making that a repeat player on my lunch plate.  I did find some good and simple sandwiches ideas from The Vegan Lunch Box that we were able to enjoy; for example, mashed chickpeas mixed with vegan mayonnaise, a teaspoon each of finely minced red onion and celery, season with salt and pepper.  This is an excellent substitute for the traditional tuna salad sandwich; just top with some extra raw or roasted veggies (cucumber, red pepper, tomatoes etc) and you’ve got a well-rounded, hearty, filling sandwich.  Vegan mayonnaise is not however on our grocery store shelves up here in the north and I have yet to get around to making some from scratch so what to do, what to do.  The solution: just combine some of my favorite foods – bean dips and roasted veggies – and layer them on toasted bread.  I like to make my sandwiches open face because I feel like I am getting to eat two sandwiches (haha) but go ahead and put it together if that is your preference.  The nice thing about this sandwich recipe is you can substitute whatever bean dip or veggies you choose. You could also heat the dip and serve the roasted veggies warm on a cold autumn day.

Happy Cooking!!

White Bean & Dill Open-Face Sandwich with Roasted Vegetables

Serves one

  • 2 slices whole grain bread, toasted (I love Silver Hills “Squirrely” – it’s sweetened with raisin nectar)
  • 1 tsp mustard (optional)
  • 4 tbsp white bean & dill dip or any bean dip you prefer
  • Handful baby spinach leaves
  • 4 roasted tomato halves
  • 1/2 roasted or sautéed portabello mushroom
  • Sea salt & freshly ground pepper to taste

Using the toast slices as the base, divide the remaining ingredients between the slices and layer in the order they appear.  Bon appétit!

White Bean & Dill Spread with Roasted Veg2

http://veganlunchbox.blogspot.ca/

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Bean & Dill Open-Face Sandwich with Roasted Vegetables

  1. smmacaulay says:

    Thanks for the shout out to my blog. Keep up the great posts! xo

Leave a Reply

