Identity – Part 3

You know, the devil really isn’t very creative.  He just resurrects the same thing in different ways.  But for all the condemnation the enemy has heaped on me, God has come and set me free.  He’s my warrior King and He fights for me. As I’ve pursued God and surrendered to Him I have learned that, unlike the devil, when God brings up an issue in my life, it’s not to condemn me but to set me free.  It’s like He’s saying, “ok, now we’re going to get rid of this.”  So instead of feeling bad about my failures, I can be excited instead because He’s in the business of restoration.  And recently God has been taking things a step further.  Instead of removing condemnation He’s showing me how I can stand against it by knowing first who He is and second who I am in Him. This freedom comes from a place of rest and knowing, a knowing that is deep, deep, like a river flowing beneath the surface.  In the past, God has literally lifted condemnation off me. Now He’s showing me how to stand in my identity as His daughter.  Just the other day I was standing in the kitchen, thinking about a situation that had happened that day.  It was definitely the type of situation that in the past would have made me feel condemned, ashamed and worthless.  Shame and worthlessness would have twisted inside me, churning like a washing machine.  I would have been bothered by this off and on for the rest of that day and possibly into the next day and week.  But that day in the kitchen, I felt I could see in the spirit.  Condemnation and shame were hovering there but they couldn’t touch me. I could see them, but I could not feel them.  I knew how they would feel though.  I also knew that I could open the door and let them in if I chose too. I saw that it wasn’t my identity as God’s child that prevented them from overwhelming me but rather my understanding of my identity.  My identity hadn’t changed.  From the moment I accepted Christ as my Savior I had been the King’s daughter but I didn’t really understand what that meant.  Head knowledge is different than understanding.  It’s like the armor of God in Ephesians 6; it is always ours to use but if we don’t understand that we are skilled in battle, it will be pretty useless when the enemy attacks.  Think about it this way.  What if Catherine Middleton didn’t understand her identity as the wife of the future king of England. What if she just kept on acting like she was the same person she was before she married Prince William.  As Prince William’s wife she is protected.  She can request things that no other commoner can because she has been grafted into the royal family. How much more then, as a daughter of the King, can I be confident of who I am. In revealing my identity, God is building in me the capacity to stand.  I am longer just a child, I am growing in Him. So now God doesn’t just come and take the boogey man away.  He shows me how to rest in Him.  Condemnation and shame will no doubt knock again because “we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places” (Ephesians 6:12) but He makes me able to stand.  And He can make you able to stand as well.  Amen.

“How gracious he will be when you cry for help! As soon as he hears, he will answer you. Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” Isaiah 30:19b-21

Christ in Me!

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

