Recipe Review: Quite Possibly the Best Ever Healthy Chocolate Cake – Beetroot and Avocado Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Glaze and Toasted Almond Gold Dust

When I read about this chocolate cake on bunnykitchen.com I had to make it right away and see if it could indeed be the “world’s healthiest chocolate cake” because: a) I LOVE chocolate, b) we were having company tonight, and c) I had a beet in my fridge that I needed to use up.  Originally I was going to try out a recipe for zucchini loaf (shout out to you Amelia!) because I also have a couple bags of frozen shredded zucchini but they can wait a bit longer.  Because while I do like beets they are one of those vegetables that have a tendency to just sit and sit and sit in my fridge until they either become rotten or I stumble upon an awesome recipe idea like this one.

I followed the recipe almost verbatim because to be honest, I am not fabulous when it comes to baking.  I find it’s much easier for me to fool around with an entrée or a side dish and adapt it to my liking but when it comes to cakes, muffins and loaves I prefer to follow a recipe.  I did however adjust my approach to the assembly of some of the ingredients.  For example, I just did not have the energy or patience to mash the beets and avocado.  I tried but when one of the pieces of beet flew off the plate and onto the floor that was it, I dumped the whole lot in my blender.  At first it didn’t want to mix properly and just clung to the sides but when I added the oil – presto, smooth and creamy.  Then I added the remaining wet ingredients and blended until I had a thick, rich, smooth and creamy, pudding-like substance.

I also love homemade chocolate so I used that in place of the chopped dark chocolate.  Right now I’m making the chocolate used in the Raw Almond Butter Cups on Oh She Glows.  I like to make extra and portion it into silicone muffin cups to keep in the freezer for later.  Then I chop it up and use it as chocolate chips in cookies, muffins or pancakes – yum!!  I heat the coconut oil a little in the microwave first, just enough so it is warm but not thoroughly a liquid.  Stir until all the solids have liquefied and set aside to cool for approximately 10 – 15 minutes (if you try to mix the other ingredients into the coconut oil while it is too warm, it has a tendency to clump up and be lumpy rather than smooth; if you forget and this happens – as it did to me just tonight! – try putting it in a small blender and process until smooth).  To make a darker chocolate than the one used in the almond butter cups, I used rounded teaspoons of cocoa powder.

I also used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour for the cake and it was fantastic so if you are eating GF, this recipe is one for your file.  For the chocolate glaze I used organic coconut sugar instead of brown sugar.  So other than the small amount of vegan margarine and soy milk in the glaze, the rest of the ingredients are all fairly unprocessed which means this just could be the world’s healthiest chocolate cake ever!  And to be honest, you don’t even need the chocolate glaze.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s an awesome tasting chocolate glaze, very rich and decadent, but the cake itself was so fudgy and moist that it can stand on it’s own.  Oh my!  I almost forgot to add that this recipe actually made 2 (8-inch round) cakes, so I have one in the freezer for later – yeah!

I’ve posted my own pics of the cake but I have added the recipe links for the cake, glaze and the chocolate below because both these sites are worth visiting and have many other recipes you will no doubt want to try, quite possibly right away!!

Happy Cooking!!

Beetroot & Avocado Chocolate Cake3

Beetroot & Avocado Chocolate Cake - Cut

Excited to eat cake2

Very excited children, anxiously waiting to try this awesome chocolate cake!!

http://bunnykitchen.com/2013/06/01/possibly-the-worlds-healthiest-chocolate-cake-beetroot-and-avocado-chocolate-cake-with-chocolate-glaze-and-toasted-almond-gold-dust/

http://ohsheglows.com/2013/07/19/raw-almond-butter-cups/

Related articles

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe Review: Quite Possibly the Best Ever Healthy Chocolate Cake – Beetroot and Avocado Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Glaze and Toasted Almond Gold Dust

  1. Poppy says:

    Your cake looks fantastic! I’m so pleased you liked it! Great that you made 2 8 inch cakes, how nice to have one in the freezer! I use the blender to make the beetroot and avocado puree too – so much easier! 😀

  2. Oh WHERE were you last week when I fumbled my way through making cupcakes for dd? LOL. Can’t wait to try this recipe as well!!! Showed the picture to my son and he made a face almost identical to the kids above: delightful anticipation!

Leave a Reply

