Chipotle-Corn with Quinoa & Pinto Beans

This past year I was delighted to discover different foods that can be frozen – I love anything that makes eating a whole-foods, plant-based (WFPB) diet easier!  I like to cook beans from dry when I have the time but since that opportunity doesn’t seem to present itself very often, I usually buy canned for convenience.  And to be honest, it’s very off-putting to spend all that time soaking and cooking dry beans for one recipe, I mean c’mon, who has that kind of time?  Not me!  Ok, so I know that if I had a pressure cooker I’d probably be a dry bean fanatic but sadly that is one item that is not yet in my kitchen.  Anyway, I read somewhere that you can freeze beans and I thought bingo!  I had jars of dry pinto and black beans so one afternoon several months ago I cooked up two big batches, used some and then froze the rest.  There they sat in my freezer until this past week (because let’s face it, even taking them out to thaw ahead of time requires a certain level of forethought and organization that is not always happening in my brain and kitchen – hahaha).   I used half the pinto beans for the bean dip featured in my Nacho Night post (see link below) and saved the rest to try out tonight’s Stolen Recipe, Chipotle-Corn with Quinoa & Pinto Beans.  Quinoa of course is the new darling of the food world.  Not really a grain, the edible seeds of this pseudo-cereal are high in protein and a good source of fibre, phosphorus, magnesium, iron and calcium making it particularly useful for those who eat a WFPB diet.  But best of all, it’s easy to cook and tastes great!  It can be used in everything from smoothies to desserts, including baked goods (I can actually buy quinoa flour up here now (yay!) and I sometimes substitute a quarter of the regular flour for quinoa flour in a recipe).  If you enjoy the flavor of chipotle peppers, then this dish is for you; just adjust the amount to suit your level of spice tolerance (we just used one pepper and it wasn’t too hot for Samuel who, by the way, loved it).  This is a pretty versatile recipe (I easily adapted it from my fave cookbook author) so feel free to add or substitute whatever veggies you enjoy or have on hand.

Happy Cooking!!

Quinua

Quinoa reference from World’s Healthiest Foods: http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?dbid=142&tname=foodspice

Chipotle-Corn with Quinoa & Pinto Beans

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked pinto beans or 1 (15oz) can, drained & rinsed
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 2 chipotle chiles in adobo, minced (for less heat, use only one)
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Salt, to taste
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup baby spinach, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (optional or may substitute parsley)
  • 2 green onions, finely chopped

Heat the oil in a saucepan over medium heat.  Add the onion, cover, and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic, then add the quinoa and cook, stirring, until lightly toasted, 1 to 2 minutes.  Add the corn, beans, red pepper, chiles, and broth.  Season with salt to taste and the pepper.  Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for about 10 minutes.  Stir in the spinach, cover, and continue to cook for another 5 minutes or until the spinach is wilted and the quinoa tender.  Stir in the cilantro (if using).  Serve immediately topped with the green onions.

Adapted from 1,000 Vegan Recipes by Robin Robertson

Chipotle-Corn with Quinoa & Pinto Beans

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

