Baked Lentils

Tonight’s Stolen Recipe is one of the first vegan meals I ever made and it was sent to me by my good friend and foodie-pal, Letitia (shout out to you girl!).   It was such a hit that it is one of a handful of recipes I pull out when: a) I can’t think what I want to make next – cause I know it’s a sure-thing and everyone needs a sure-thing now and again; b) it’s the end of the week and the cupboard’s getting a bit bare – cause the ingredients are pretty basic staples in our home; and c) I want warm comfort food.  I know, weird eh, to describe lentils as comfort food, but seriously, once you try them you’ll see what I mean; they just kinda melt in your mouth.  I serve them over baked brown rice.  Rice is really EASY to do in the oven AND it always cooks perfectly unlike stove-top (see the link below); I don’t add any margarine or salt and it turns out just fine. Oh, and another great tip about rice that I just learned in the last few months: you can freeze it!!  So go ahead, double the recipe and put some in the freezer for a quick meal addition later on.  My son and husband like to add vegan margarine and Kikkoman Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (no added sugar!) to their baked lentils and rice but I enjoy it just the way it is. This dish would pair nicely with a colourful salad or steamed broccoli with a drizzle of sesame oil and a sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds.

Happy cooking!!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/baked-brown-rice-recipe/index.html

Baked Lentils

  • 1 cup of lentils (green or brown or combo of both)
  • 2 tbls honey (optional – I’ve tried without it and I liked it just fine)
  • 2 cups of water or veggie broth (I’ve only used water and again, I like it just fine!)
  • 2 tbls soy sauce
  • 1 tsp fresh* ginger, minced
  • 2 tbls olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • pinch of salt
  • black pepper, to taste

(*you can use dried ground ginger but I love it fresh!  If you don’t use it often enough and are worried about wasting, pop it in a freezer-safe container or bag and chop off pieces as needed; ginger peels & chops easily when frozen)

Combine everything in a baking dish, stir and cover. Bake for 2 hours at 350 degrees.

Time-Saving Tip: if you have one of those nifty ovens that you can pre-program, it’s easy to put this together in the morning before work or at lunch and set it to be ready as you walk in the door later on!

Baked Lentils - Unbaked  Baked Lentils & Rice

 

 

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked Lentils

  1. Pingback: Brown lentil/Horse gram/Kulitha Saaru | Keli Paan

    • Hi – thanks so much for including my recipe as a related link in your post! I’ll have to try out your recipe sometime … and I agree, garlic and lentils … mmmm, what’s not to love? 🙂 Happy Cooking!!

  2. Thank yoou for the good writeup. It in truth used to be a
    entertainment account it. Look compllex to more introduced agreeable
    from you! However, how can we keep up a correspondence?

  3. Pingback: Mexican One-Pot Wonder, Souped-Up: Day Three & Four of the Daniel Fast | Dose Dependent

Leave a Reply

