Pancake Paradise

I don’t know about you but once a month or so, cooking after work is just not an option.  Maybe it’s the end of the week, maybe the fridge or pantry is bare, or maybe it’s the end of your stamina but whatever the reason, you need something simple, quick and tasty and – dare I say it – you just might not give a rip if it includes a vegetable or not (gasp, shock, horror – I can see myself being stripped of my Vegan Martha Stewart crown, lol).  At any rate, my guess is even if this doesn’t apply to every single person, I’m probably not alone.  Yesterday was one of those nights.  Sometimes on those nights everyone just picks their favorite breakfast cereal or pops a slice of bread in the toaster but last night I made chocolate chip pancakes.  Mmmm – chocolate chip pancakes.  They were pretty rare in my house growing up – not sure why – but I do remember that they were my birthday breakfast request and now they are a favorite for my son.  So last night as he was playing outside in our gorgeous, unexpectedly hot and sunny day, I was flipping fluffy vegan chocolate chip pancakes.  When a few cakes were ready I called him in and – here’s the funny part – I heard my boy say to the 3 others who were with him, “hey, do you guys want to eat chocolate chip pancakes?”  So, in trooped 4 boys, all ready for me to serve them up pancakes, hahaha. Thankfully I had enough batter and the pancakes were gone as soon as they came out of the pan.  Ever since he was a baby, both my husband and I decided we wanted to be the house where Samuel and his friends played and hung out, so if that means I’m whipping up large batches of cookies or chocolate chip pancakes, bring it on!  🙂

These classic chocolate chip pancakes are veganized and adapted from the “Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook” given to me by my mother-in-law the first Christmas I was married; I hope you enjoy them as much as we do and remember to always use pure maple syrup – because it just tastes better AND it’s a hidden source of calcium (who knew – now we have more reasons to enjoy maple syrup!). And for more fun and tasty pancake recipes, see the two other blog links below.  Maybe we should have a pancake party!!  🙂

Happy Cooking!!

Classic Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Makes 8 servings

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tbsp coconut or granulated sugar (optional: if you want to omit the sugar, the pancakes will not taste sweet on their own but covered in maple syrup no one knows the difference – I know I tried it!)
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond or soy milk
  • 2 tbsp neutral oil (or 1 tbsp oil & 1 tbsp plain unsweetened applesauce)
  • 1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips
  • Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder & salt.  Make a well in the centre of flour mixture.  Combine the milk & oil (and/or applesauce if using).  Add liquid ingredients all at once to flour mixture.  Stir until just moistened.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

For standard-size pancakes, use a 1/4 cup measure to pour batter onto a hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet.  Cook over medium heat about 2 – 3 minutes on each side or until pancakes are golden brown, turning to second sides when pancakes have bubbly surfaces and edges are slightly dry.

Variation: Banana-Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Add 1 tsp ground cinnamon to dry ingredients

Decrease oil to 1 tbsp and add 1 tsp pure vanilla and 1/2 medium mashed ripe banana to liquid ingredients (if you add more than 1/2 banana the batter will not cook properly)

Pancake Group     Pankcake Sammy

About dosedependent

Hello! I'm passionate about my faith in Jesus Christ, eating a whole-foods, plant-based diet and living life with my family in northern Manitoba.
This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pancake Paradise

  1. Pingback: A Peek at my Week – Take Two | Dose Dependent Ministries

Leave a Reply

